Government  >  Departments  >  Irrigation and Waterways
Department Logo  Irrigation and Waterways

Irrigation Department came into being in the year 1920, separating out from the Public Works department and was named Irrigation & Waterways Department only in 1946. In the pre-plan period i.e. prior to 1951, Irrigation was effected through Diversion Schemes on rivers Kangsabati and Damodar. Since 1951, several major and medium irrigation Projects, flood management projects, river bank protection, anti sea erosion schemes and schemes relating to improvement of rural and urban connectivity have been taken up by the Department.Moreover, River Research Institute, under the control of this Department has been conducting research work on river engineering, soil technology etc and imparting training to departmental and other Government officials.


Sri Suvendu Adhikari

Address: Jalasampad Bhavan, 1st floor, Block- DF, Sector I, Salt Lake, Kolkata-700091
Phone: 2321-5103
Fax: 2321-5104

Additional Chief Secretary

Shri Naveen Prakash, I.A.S

Address:Jalasampad Bhaban,1stfloor, Bidhannagar,Saltlake,

Nodal Officer

Sri Manash Chakraborty, Joint Secretary

Address: Jalasampad Bhavan, 3rdFloor, Western Block,Bidhannagar,Salt Lake , Kolkata-700091

Last updated on: Thrusday, 3rd Sept, 2020
Information Source: Department of Irrigation and Waterways, Government of West Bengal
  • West Bengal Electronics Industry Development Corporation Limited
  • Bengal Global Summit
  • West Bengal Map
  • National Portal of India
  • e-Governance Portal

Disclaimer: Site Contents owned, designed, developed, maintained and updated by the Information & Cultural Affairs Department, Government of West Bengal.

Official Site of Government of West Bengal, India | Copyright 2020, All Rights Reserved.