Government  >  Departments  >  Fire and Emergency Services
  Fire and Emergency Services
Fire Service in West Bengal started functioning long back in the name and style of the Calcutta Fire Brigade. During the last World War the necessity of augmenting the strength of the Calcutta Fire Brigade and also for providing fire safety in other city areas of undivided Bengal was keenly felt. The Calcutta Fire Brigade was strengthened by the addition of an auxiliary fire service, the cost of which was born entirely by Govt., and a parallel organization named 'The Bengal Fire Service' was created by the Govt., under which fire stations were established in densely populated and industrial towns of Bengal.
After cessation of the last world war and partition of Bengal, Govt. decided to maintain a permanent State Fire Service covering the whole of West Bengal. Pursuant to that decision, The West Bengal Fire Service Act. 1950 was enacted and the employees of the Calcutta Fire Brigade, the auxiliary Fire Service and the Bengal Fire Service were absorbed in the newly created West Bengal Fire Services under the administrative control of Local Self Government department, now known as the Municipal affairs and Urban Development Department. Chinese aggression in 1962 led to the establishment of a large number of fire stations and the appointment of consequential supervisory staffs. Since then the West Bengal Fire Service has expanded gradually. In the year 2001 the Fire Service Department has been segregated from the Municipal Affairs Department and was established as a newly created Department of Fire Services under an independent Ministry vide Govt. Notification No. 436-Home (Constitution and Election) dated 14.12.2001. Thus West Bengal became the first State in the country to have a separate Ministry for Fire Services. The West Bengal Fire Services is renamed as West Bengal Fire & Emergency Services in the year 2005 vide Govt. Notification No.- 82/FS/O/C-1/2E-41/2004 dated 10th June 2005.

The West Bengal Fire & Emergency Services is the State-wide organization providing total 110 Fire stations equipped with about 550 different types of Fire Engines manned by about 6500 trained Fire Fighters with available accessories. New Fire Stations like Mainaguri and Falakata have been set up very recently and Gobardanga, Alampur, Harishchandrapur, Dankuni, Nonadanga, Khatra, Dalkhola, Rajarhat, Egra,Sonarpur, Pragatimaidan, Jhalda, Kakdeep, Canning, Lalbag, Memeri, Mirik, etc are coming up very shortly.


Sri Sovan Chatterjee

Address: Bikash Bhavan, 2nd Floor,
south Block, Sector I,
Salt Lake , Kolkata - 700091
Phone: 2337-3728/3729
Fax: 2337- 3728

Principal Secretary

Sri Arnab Roy (I.A.S)

Address: Bikash Bhawan,
South Block, Saltlake,
Kolkata - 700091
Phone: 2358-1130
Fax: 2321-1454

Nodal Officer

Sri Bholanath Das ,Commissioner , I.A.S

Address:Bikash bhawan, south
block, 2nd floor, saltlake
Kolkata - 700091
Phone: 2359-4331
Fax: 2359 4331
Email: ,
Last updated on: Wednesday, 1st May 2019
Information Source: Nodal Officer, Department of Fire and Emergency Services, Government of West Bengal
  • West Bengal Electronics Industry Development Corporation Limited
  • Bengal Global Summit
  • West Bengal Map
  • National Portal of India
  • e-Governance Portal

Disclaimer: Site Contents owned, designed, developed, maintained and updated by the Information & Cultural Affairs Department, Government of West Bengal.

Official Site of Government of West Bengal, India | Copyright 2020, All Rights Reserved.